Is Big Country Raw Canadian?

The short answer

Yes for manufacturing. Big Country Raw states that it produces all of its raw pet food in Smithville, Ontario. Its founders are named on its About page, but it does not use the words family-owned or independent, so we have not stated its ownership structure.

Head office: Smithville, Ontario, Canada

Website: bigcountryraw.ca

What “Canadian” means for this brand

These are separate facts and we keep them separate. A company can be Canadian-owned and manufacture abroad, or foreign-owned and manufacture here. Each line below carries its own evidence and its own date.

Made in Canada

Yes

The product itself is manufactured in Canada. This is about the factory, not the head office.

Source:
  • About Us
    We produce all of our raw pet food right here in Smithville, Ontario.
    Read August 30, 2026

Last verified August 30, 2026

Canadian brand

Yes

The brand was founded and is operated in Canada, whatever its current ownership or manufacturing.

Source:
  • About Us
    In 2008, Rob and Geraldine Brouwer ran Big Country Kennels
    Read August 30, 2026

Last verified August 30, 2026

Canadian-owned company

Not stated

The company that owns the brand is Canadian. This says nothing about where its products are manufactured.

The About page names the founders but does not state whether the company is independently or family owned, and names no parent company. We are not treating founder names as an ownership statement.

Source:
  • About Us
    In 2008, Rob and Geraldine Brouwer ran Big Country Kennels
    Read August 30, 2026

Last verified August 30, 2026

Made with Canadian ingredients

Not stated

Some or all of the inputs are sourced in Canada. Check the scope note for which ones.

We found no statement on the company’s own site about where its meat or produce is sourced.

Source:

Last verified August 30, 2026

Browse the category

How we check this

Every claim on this page links to the source we read and the date we read it. We take origin and manufacturing statements from a company’s own site, its packaging, or a government record, and we do not infer where something is manufactured from who owns the company. Ownership and manufacturing change independently, so each claim is dated separately. The oldest check on this page is from 2026-08-30.

Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will re-check it.